Writing, or: How I have no staying power

Published January 13, 2012 by Kim

Har-har.

Seriously, though, despite my juvenile attempts at humor in the title to this post, this is a problem for me worthy of a “little blue pill” of its own.

I love to write–hoo, boy, do I ever. I love words: the variety, the nuances in meaning, word play, double entendres, the power of them. Words can wound or heal, carry you to exquisite heights or dash you against the proverbial rocks; they communicate great beauty in the most poetic of ways, or cut to the quick in their brevity. Oh, writing–wielding those little daggers–is extremely satisfying.

Except I am incapable of finishing anything I start. I don’t know why that is…being easily distracted? losing the fire of inspiration once the trigger-thought is put down? Both are true. Yet, I still find the original ideas percolating in my head–snippets of lives, glimpses of events in a character’s history, all just simmering in my brain, but never coming to use. It’s frustrating. I keep telling myself, “This time, I’ll plot out the story first. Get the beginning, the conflict, the resolution–all of it–sketched out before I start. Then I won’t let it fall to the wayside!” Of course, I never get around to doing that, either.

It’s very disheartening to have a dream that is self-sabotaged. I know I’m not a great writer–I lack the ingenuity to warrant anything more than “okay”–but I think I’m capable of something worthwhile. I only wish I could sit down, focus, and get some of these ideas (and I have several) completed.

5 comments on “Writing, or: How I have no staying power

  • Oh I know exactly how that is! I’ve had many delicious novel ideas to try out, then, exactly as you said, either the fire goes out, or nothing comes out right, and I end up just losing the idea. I finally started limiting myself to writing flash fiction, stories under 1,000 words. I’m slowly making my way up to longer pieces, and hopefully, eventually, I’ll be able to complete something along the lines of a novel! So, baby steps, and have faith. When the right idea comes along, you’ll find the passion to follow it. 🙂

    • How encouraging! I’m so glad to know I’m not alone in this sort of wishy-washy existence. 😉

      Flash-fiction…interestingly, you’re the second person today to mention that to me. A sign? It’s worth a go–after all, it might build up my confidence, and my ability to keep it going when the words are less agreeable about coming out. Thanks for commenting (especially with such a good suggestion)!

      • haha, at the very least it’s worth giving it a go for a few short pieces. I think it definitely helps me keep focused, and has actually helped me form structured writing, which is a skill I admittedly lack. 🙂 It’s also small enough to make sure I keep writing constantly.

        Good luck in your writing endeavors, and I hope it helps you as much as it’s helped me. Cheers!

  • “When we read, we start at the beginning and continue until we reach the end. When we write, we start in the middle and fight our way out.”

    If it’s any consolation, I never know where any of my stories are going, ever, ever. Saying that – I second the joy of short-stories and flash fiction, as manageable chunks of work I can get my head around. 🙂

    • Wise words that I’m going to steal.

      Part of the fun of the story is not knowing, I think (sometimes, anyway). It’s sort of like life–great plans and schemes, but things occasionally take another path. From time to time, however, I like a little predictability. 😉

      Flash fiction prompt, anyone? I’m game.

  • Leave a Reply

