Match #1

Published September 17, 2012 by Kim

I hated coming to my mother’s. It was always something about my divorce from David. She didn’t fail me, today, either.

“I’m not saying it would’ve made everything better, but he might’ve been happier if you’d agreed to have a baby.”

“Oh, my god, mom. Can you please drop it? He knew from the get-go that I wasn’t planning on kids. He agreed with me, for Christ’s sake.”

She sat down her coffee cup and leaned against the counter. “He wanted to marry you, of course he said that.”

“Then he was an idiot. He knows I don’t change my mind.”

“You don’t change your mind easily. You’ve changed it lots of times, before. Like about getting married.”

“That was different.”

She turned her back to me. “You were never right for that young man.”

“Excuse me? I wasn’t right for him?”

My mother turned around, angry. “No, you weren’t. He was a good man, very laid back and easygoing. All he wanted in the world was to be with you and make you happy.” She threw her finger in my face. “But that was his problem–sometimes you need to be told no. Sometimes you have to be made to see that what other people want matters, too. If you’d have stopped for five minutes and listened to him, you’d have seen he was willing to do anything to be with you, to have a child with you. You know he called me? He told me he was trying to get a position at home. He was going to be a work at home, stay at home dad, just so you could get back to your career. But you never even gave him a chance to try.” She sat down hard in the chair beside me. “He and April have a little girl. She’s beautiful.”

“I heard. Before their their first anniversary.”

She rolled her eyes. “Oh, hush. There’s nothing wrong with that. They wanted a baby. Why should they wait because you think it’s a bad idea?”

“To each their own, mom.”

She glared at me. “Don’t you think I don’t know what you’re doing. I know your game, missy.” She sighed, and it sounded resigned. “This is our fault. Your dad and I…we wanted you to be independent, to find your own way and not follow along with everyone else. I guess I should’ve known you’d buck everyone, even me.”

“What do you want me to do, mom? Compromise until I’m not even me, anymore?”

“No, and you should know better than to ask that. I’m just saying you need to temper it a little. There’s no need to reject an idea the moment somebody mentions it. You could try to at least pretend to entertain the thought.”

She patted my hand. “Meanwhile, I’ll just wait for you to meet someone who turns your world upside down and inside out. I can’t wait to see what you’ll do, then.” She laughed, sounding more herself. “What will you do with a man as stubborn as you?”

Leave a Reply

